• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

HELP! Dead NSX

Anyone have this problem and know the solution. This morning I backed my 97 NSX out of the driveway to take out the trash and put it back in the garage and everything is OK. This afternoon I climb in to take a drive, plug in my iPod and my radar detector and go to start the car. The radar detector goes "beep" and all electrical power goes out. Disconnect the iPod and radar detector and everything is still dead.

Any ideas?

Thanks,

Dennis

Assuming you checked the battery and alternator already? Main relay? Ask Z he may have an extra nearby after you check the electrical stuff out...

I agree, it sounds like a mail relay (but I am no mechanic). You might try giving the back panel behind the driver's seat (right shoulder area) a smack. Some have reported "waking up the relay" with this simple effort.

It might not do anything but it is worth a try.

Also, try a search on "main relay", there should be a bunch of info on this malady.

Also check for a loose battery cable.

Norm

Last edited:
try giggling the key while its in the ignition do the lights flicker if so then Ign switch, if everything looks fine while giggling it

then 100% fact its your main relay

The main relay controls power to the fuel pump, not all the power to the car. If everything is dead, it does not sound like the main relay. No starter action? No dash lights? All fuses good?

Sounds like the ignition switch. Happen to me once. Took it apart clean it and out it back together. Work again! GL

battery issue or wire connection to it.