• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

Intercooler location

So I'm far from an expert on turbo science but I have noticed that more than one of the "kits" I have been looking for has the intercooler mounted behind the left rear tire. This doesn't seem like the best spot due to the debris pummeling or clogging the unit itself. I have seen other setups where the cooler is top mounted on the engine (with a snorkel) or in the front of the car. How do the turbo guys decide where the cooler goes? Is there a distance rule that should be followed? I'm in the turbo market and just want to be informed. Thanks in advance.

Most likely the intercooler you see in the left rear is an A2W. If it's not I'm not sure you'll be able to get enough airflow from just one side of the car. I ran a huge A2A before switching and it took up the bottom center section of my car. The measurements were somewhere along 2 inches thick, and a few feet wide and long...

Choosing a turbo kit depends on a few things though...

Budget
Power Goals
Usage for tracking or street driving

Is there a distance rule that should be followed? I'm in the turbo market and just want to be informed. Thanks in advance.

I am a little biased in this so take it for what it is worth: