• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

Opinions, advice on Red/Black 1991 at Specialty Sales in NorCal?

http://sfbay.craigslist.org/eby/ctd/2877099498.html

VIN: JH4NA1153MT000130

Hi guys, first post here. Wondering if anyone knows this red 1991 for sale at Specialty Sales in Pleasanton, CA (link above). I drove it last weekend (my first drive in an nsx) and had the impressions listed below. I'm new to nsx's but not sports cars (m3's, 911s). In sum, I enjoyed driving the car but was let down by the appearance. It has me debating what it is I plan to do with the car. At first I thought I wasn't that worried about the appearance, my initial plan had been just for a fun weekend canyon carver to give my c63 amg daily driver a break. But the interior is embarassingly bad. Anyway, the impressions:

-Aesthetically the car was a letdown from the pics. The exterior isn't that bad except the car was obviously let to sit out in the sun for a while. Faded/peeling clear coat on black rooftop (only), generally the red paint was ok but seemed a little bit thin/flat in areas.

-Interior is bad, rough seats and ugly bubbling grey shiny plastic trim pieces. Again just generally dry lookng, like it had sat outside.

-High-pitched whine from the engine beginning in low rpm and fading/blending into the normal (beautiful) engine noise after that (3-4k rpm). Not sure if normal or a concern.

-When they started it the kid (literally like 16 yrs old...!?) had to gas it to keep it from stalling. Idle/cold start problem?

-Car is extremely low on modified suspension (apparently dropped 3 inches). Surprisingly not bad as far as rattles, interior noises. Awesome look though. I would raise back up a bit, if not to stock.

-Clutch shot, slips badly.

-Apparently in need of 60k service.