• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

V1 Targa installation

Tomorrow I expect my targa V1 mount to come in. The unit actually mounts below the engine glass pane (above the center channel speaker). Because I'm not that experienced with general car work, I will be asking a lot of questions during the installation. (which i will fully document to help others).

My first question should have a straight forward answer. --- How do I remove the long trim piece below the divider glass? The following thread describes it, but it didnt work for me: http://www.nsxsc.com/ubb/Forum17/HTML/000039.html Any suggestions? Thanks

BTW - Here is a picture of what the mount looks like
tmount.jpg

Not sure where i will put the remote display yet. I need to think about it....

It's been a while since I removed mine, but I thought you pushed the bottom in and up, not down. I'll try it on my car and let you know.

Thanks Lud! I got the piece off, it just required some forceful pulling. I also got the mount today. The base plate is around an inch bigger than the unit on each side, and i am currently unclear how the unit is supposed to attach to the mount. I'm going to try to contact MJ for the answer. I guess velcro is always a possibility.

Next question - I have the wire harness for the V1 that needs to tap into a power line. So the question is, can I just take any red wire, and splice the v1 sucka into it? Does anyone now if any of those wires beneath the trim piece are power wires?

Thanks!

You can splice into the cigarette lighter which is switched on with the ignition.

ok - update time!

I took all the back panels off, as well as the center console. The unit mounts to the mount via velcro. Now all thats left for me to figure out at the moment is where to splice in the power wire.

First of all - heres a pic of the installed mount (pre velcro)

mount.jpg