• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

What are the main things to look for when buying a used NSX

Hi, I am a new subscriber to this site. I must say that when I browsed this site I found the people to be friendly and knowledgeable. That's cool. I have a question. I have loved the NSX since the first time that I saw it and now I think that I might have the chance to buy one. Maybe a early ninetys, not a very expesive one, in the 20k range. The question I have is besides the usual ride to the dealer what are some things that I should look for or ask of the seller? I am a professional motorcycle mechanic and I know that some things can sometimes be misleading. Example, the bike steers straight but my trained eye can see that the frame had been straightened. Ya know, things like that. Also, I see some people talking about snap ring. What's that about? Piston rings? Obviously maintenance is key to longevity but are the parts this car needs that expensive? I currently own a 99 Civic SI that can take a beating like a champ and parts for that thing are cheap. I did some research but haven't had to buy any yet. Knock Knock. ( on wood ) I'll probably be doing a drop off of my car and a pick up of this one out of state so I don't want to get home and find something that I could have at the time of purchase Ya know.
Thanks for the help and sorry so long but that saves on multiple threads right?

Hopefully I'll be posting some pics soon. I'm crossing my fingers.

See Ya

Steve

Arrange to have pre-purchase inspection done, cost around $100.

Make sure the timing belt, water pump, 90k mile service has been performed, if not set aside $2000~$2500 for above items.

NSX are bullet proof cars, just like Civic, you can drive it just like any other car.

NSX has by far the best built quality, reliability over any cars I have ever owned, it just felt amazingly rock soild.