• ***Text Box Error UPDATE*** Folks- we were able to fix the underlying issue with the missing text box on the forum. Everything should be back to normal. - Honcho

Another Newbie Here

Hi....
Finally saved up enough to get an NSX..just picked one up 2 weeks ago and starting to get used to it!
I did see another post about the driving school coming up at Thunderhill and have signed up..would like a little advice, though. The previous owner used the car as a comuter and had Firestone SVXs(!)installed. The backs are nearly worn, and the handling
seems to be vague on turn-in, with a sharp dive toward the inside of the turn, followed by the back-end feeling not all there. Doesn't instill much confidence.
In reading the FAQ section, I know that the OEM tires were specifically designed for the car, but can it make that much difference in the handling? Would it be advisable to get new tires before going to the school? I plan to leave the front and rear toe-ins stock.
(it's a '93)
Thanks in advance for any advice anyone can send my way...

I know that the OEM tires were specifically designed for the car, but can it make that much difference in the handling?

Yes.

Would it be advisable to get new tires before going to the school?

I would get them even sooner. As in, right away. Why live with mediocre tires on a high-performance car?

Originally posted by rowr:
Hi....
Finally saved up enough to get an NSX..just picked one up 2 weeks ago and starting to get used to it!
I did see another post about the driving school coming up at Thunderhill and have signed up..would like a little advice, though. The previous owner used the car as a comuter and had Firestone SVXs(!)installed. The backs are nearly worn, and the handling
seems to be vague on turn-in, with a sharp dive toward the inside of the turn, followed by the back-end feeling not all there. Doesn't instill much confidence.