• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

How do you use the clutch in your car?

How do you clutch?

• Pedal to the floor

Votes: 10 66.7%
  • Float past engagment point

Votes: 5 33.3%

• Total voters
Hey so today I kind of thought of something about the clutch pedal and tried it out on my way to/back from work.

When I started learning driving I got into the habit of fully pressing the clutch pedal down to the floor, switch gear, and then depress to get the clutch to engage. Just for the sake of making the learning process simpler. I always could tell the engagement point was not near the bottom of the throw, but because of habit and how I learned, I just did it that way for the past 6 years.

Today I thought why not just push the clutch just past the engagement point and shift. It felt strange not bringing the clutch down and kind of floating at only 1/3 - 1/2 of the throw. I could see the benefit of this method where my shifts seemed quicker and felt less straining on my leg during the shift.

So as a general inquiry what do you guys do? Do you push it down to the floor or float it? What do you think is the best method? Maybe I've been doing it wrong for the longest time ever lol.

Last edited:
I lightly pressure the shifter before I step on the clutch. Then when the shifter moves, I follow through with the shift while my foot continues to press down more. Then I quickly pop the peddle up (gently) once the stick has stopped moving.

well if you miss the engagment point and shift you could grind gears and that over tiem woulf be a money issue.

push to floor to be safe in my opinion

Push it to the floor.

BTW: Depressing the clutch means to push the pedal down (not let it up).

I press it to the floor.