• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

Intermittent limp mode (?), no CEL

Kid

Contributing Member
Hi,

Not OP here. I'm doing an auto engine/auto trans swap out with a manual engine/manual trans. I've got the swap done, all running and driving but the car has some odd issues which I've never experienced before on anything I've worked on. I'm not experienced on Hondas so I thought one of you knowledgeable people might have come across the problem and be able to help.

The problem is that the car intermittently hits a limiter of sorts at 1400 RPM in any gear except first which seems to go to ~2000 before doing it. When it does this, it loses a lot of power but can keep driving. If you keep your foot into it, it slowly builds revs and power starts to come back as cylinders start to operate again and then by about ~3k all cylinders are back and revs out cleanly. When it's running fine, it has no problem revving out which suggest the engine is mechanically fine.

The car does have the ABS and TCS lights on, which I'm now sure is contributing/causing the problem. The CEL and the charge light flash occasionally when it's in this 'faulted' operation mode. I had a quick look through the troubleshooting guide of the TCS section of the manual and I couldn't see anything about a 1400RPM cut or anything that's close to what the car's doing.

Has anyone experienced something like this before and if so, could they provide some guidance on what could be causing this and what checks to perform, without fixing the ABS and TCS yet (unless that's is the problem for sure)?

Thanks.
-K

Did you transplant the manual ECU to the car or are you using the auto ECU? There are differences, one being that the auto ECU needs an in-gear indication from the transmission. The auto ECU also has different fuel maps because of the difference in the cams between the auto and manual.