• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

Newbie with emission question- before I buy

I'm looking at a 92 from NJ. I know it will need to go thru emissions when I get it back to Phoenix. My concern is will I have a hard time getting this thru emissions? It has a built motor and supercharger which is why I'm concerned. Any thoughts?

I think as long as it has catalytic converters on it and has been tuned it should be ok. I am by no means an expert, but I'm sure others who are more knowledgeable will chime in.

contact science of speed in Tempe locally. they have a lot more knowledge with this thing than most of the guys here. I personally would not let it be a deal breaker. it is very easy to tune the the car for emissions.

agree with peiserg, shouldn't be a deal breaker...

They have emissions requirements in New Jersey, did it pass there?

Seller is a dealer so I thought they did not have to emission test it. Is that true? I will contact SOS. Thanks.

Depending on which county you move to, you will have different emissions standards. Maricopa CO (Phoenix area) uses CARB (California) emissions standards, but they do not do a visual inspection of the vehicle. However, for OBD1 cars (which the 92 is), they will do a sniffer test.

On the other hand, Comptech makes an exhaust header that is CARB legal. If it doesn't have one on already, you could swap for that one.

24832 miles for a 92? Hmmm.... nice...

Do you think this has been altered? The carfax checks out good. Reasonably well documented car via this forum so I felt it was probably right. Thoughts?

Do you think this has been altered? The carfax checks out good. Reasonably well documented car via this forum so I felt it was probably right. Thoughts?

I guess that's the million dollar question. Are you really paying close to 100k for a 92?