• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

Strange Brake Issue - losing pedal pressure but only when the engine is running

Hi All,

I'm fairly new to NSX ownership (month two now) but have already spent a bit of time with my head in the forums and workshop manuals thanks to a few common problems (failing window regulators, hot A/C) that my relatively low-km 1992 NA1 decided to surprise me with! Thankfully most of those were easily remedied... but I'm quite literally stuck on this one. I'll describe some symptoms, to see if any of you doctors can help me diagnose exactly what's going on. I live in Tokyo and my Japanese isn't amazing so I don't want to go straight to a dealer without really understanding what the issue is.

• First, started to notice infrequent hesitation at idle. Thought maybe it was a dodgy spark plug. Occasionally car will splutter on start.
  • Second, dashboard throws a few lights at me on a long drive - the brake light, ALB and TCS lights (although my memory is not perfect).
  • I arrive after midnight from my drive and car goes into storage until the following Saturday morning, when I have time to take it out and see what's going on.
  • At this point, notice that the brake pedal basically goes to the floor - leaving me with a minuscule amount of braking ability. Brake warning light still illuminated, but ALB and TCS lights are not.
  • Notice that once the engine is switched off, brake pedal pressure returns. Odd. Play around a bit, stupidly press the soggy pedal many times.
  • Inspect the reservoirs. I cannot recall to what level they were last filled, but top reservoir (master cylinder) is basically bone dry and bottom reservoir (ABS) is slightly over-full.
  • Inspect vacuum hoses in the frunk, can't find anything broken or detached. Have not been able to inspect any vacuum lines in the engine room or under the car.