• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

What kind of oil do you use?

ck

Experienced Member
Hi, everyone,

Just wondering what what kind of engine and transmission oil do you guys use. Synthetic or mineral? What brand? Any comments or recomendations?

Thanks,
Chris

I am a Mobil1 kinda guy myself. You will get lots of answers from this group. Try the search function on the forums page and type in oil, should bring up many, many posts.

BTW, my old NSX tech (who was gung-ho on anything Honda until he jumped ship and started working on BMW's for more $$$) said that Honda motor oil is just as good if not better than Mobil1 (it is synthetic) and said the Mobil1 rep even agreed when pressed. JFYI.

------------------
Gary Yates
1995 Red/Tan

I have been using Red Line oil in all my vehicals for past 6 years, I guess Mobil 1
is cheaper but I feel that Red Line is the better product plus it is a local company.
I see you are in the Bay area Chris, we should get together for a drive some weekend.

I use Mobil 1 10w-30 in the engine and Honda MTL in the transmission--never had a problem at the track or on the street.

Ditto here.

I had been using Pennzoil Performax synthetic when it was less expensive than Mobil 1, but now that they cost the same, I'm a Mobil 1 guy.

Valvoline Synthetic in the Engine
Redline MTL in the tranny

The only oil induced engine failure I have ever heard of was my friend tried an oil with molybdenum disulfide in his motorcycle in the late 70's. The particles plugged a small pressure reducing orifice that fed the camshaft, result, camshaft seized.

I would avoid the use of any oil that has particles of "super lubricants" in it if the oil has to be pumped through small places. Great on door hinges, bad on small passages.