• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

Basic FI tuning

1. I have a BBSC that was bascially bolted on by Mark and the killer.mdb file load--no additional tuning was done. Not smart and time to change that. I will be installing a wideband (FJO or other), but unfortunately, I have no background or knowledge regarding FI and all the issues. I will have it tuned by someone who does, but I would like to educate myself. Especially since FI seems to be a neverending tail chase.

Now, does anyone have any recommendations about one or two good sources, texts or otherwise. (I have read everything in this forum)

A few other questions please;

2 I am upgrading the fuel lines, pump and regulator (aka Jerry Johnson.) What fuel pressure should I aim for with the standard BBSC pulley? Are the 440 injectors enough?

3. What is the maximum but safe boost that can be run on an engine with stock internals?

4. Should I be using a colder plug?

Sorry for the lengthy questions. Quite a few of you have tremendous knowledge on this subject and this is scary landscape for a newbie.

:eek:

Plugs
I was told same plugs by Jane Basch.

I will have it tuned by someone who does
With NSX specific FI tuning experience?

Here are the first questions you need to answer:
A. Do you have the original SS box?
B. Have you tested your fuel pressure at WOT on the dyno?
C. What year is your car?

I have a 92 (ie no throttle by wire, OBDII issues)

I just put in the new SS box. I was an early BBSC install. (June 2002)

Unfortunately, I do not have a baseline fuel pressure at WOT. My car has not been on a dyno yet. Is this info important PRIOR TO upgrading the fuel lines, pump, etc?

.Unfortunately, I do not have a baseline fuel pressure at WOT