• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

Front end clunking noise while hitting bumps (with a video)

Hi guys, I owned a 1991 NSX for about a year and a half now. When I first bought it the car came with the newer 7 spoke nsx wheels and stock suspension. Every once in awhile I would hear a loud clunk noise from the front end when hitting big bumps. It did not happen often so I never looked into it, than I put aftermarket wheels and tires on it when I did the noise went away on all bumps. Fast forward to now I put a comp tech spring on the car which lowered it about an inch and the noise is back and happens a lot more since going lower. It is a higher mile nsx at 182,000 so I am paying special attention to the steering rack maybe being worn? I am still new to this car and not 100% familiar with diagnosing this, what are common causes of front end noises in these cars?

Things I have done...
-Checked the entire front end and nothing is loose, or seems out of place
-The wheels and tires are not rubbing or coming into contact with anything (its made the noise on my Stock wheels, and my Volks)
-I unbolted the front sway bar and hit some bumps with it like that and the noise still persisted
-I did jack the car up and noticed a slight play in the steering arm coming out of the rack on the passenger side, and noticed no play on the drives side (maybe a Knock bushing could help?)

The car drives straight and gives me no problems, it does not matter if the wheel is straight or turned it will make the noise either way when I hit a bump. And the noise is made on both the driver and passenger side.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/SeilDg9RIZE" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen=""></iframe>

I was going to suggest your sway bar, but looks like you already checked that.