• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

I won a trial for a traffic violation in June, now I have to appear in court again?

I'm looking for some insight here. I received a ticket in the city of St. Louis I don't believe I deserved and decided to take it to trial myself (you only live once, right?). I'm not an attorney, but I did my research, walked in prepared and I won... or so I thought? Can anyone explain why they might need me back in court? Details below:

-February 2009 - received traffic ticket for Failure to Yield to an emergency vehicle

-April 2009 - Appeared in court and plead not guilty. Trail date set for June 2009

-June 2009 - Trial is held, officer, prosecutor and judge all present, I'm found not guilty. I asked the judge after the gavel fell if they needed anything else from me, or vice-versa and was told "no" and to have a good day. The judge knew I was a rookie and was very fair/accommodating so I *think* he would have pointed me in the right direction.

-Yesterday - Received letter in mail notifying me that my case has been reset to January 2010, and I need to appear in court or else a warrant will be issued.

I called the court this morning, got a girl who claims her system is down and she guessed I still owe court costs. She hung up on me when I began to question that. I really don't want to have to take another morning off work to go to court, and I REALLY don't think I should have to pay costs for a case that I won. What's going on here? Thanks!

Last edited:
Just pay the fine if the paperwork you have doesn't automatically dismiss you. It's not worth the time/effort/stress.