• ***Text Box Error UPDATE*** Folks- we were able to fix the underlying issue with the missing text box on the forum. Everything should be back to normal. - Honcho

Q: Open car trailer

Picked up my open car trailer today, but noticed some swaying. Do I need to install any sway controls or weight distribution for safety measures? Any thoughts on the "surged" brake system as well? (Hope I posted this question in the right forum.)

Attachments

• mytrailer1.jpg
    mytrailer1.jpg
    96.5 KB · Views: 153
I'm not a trailer expert by any stretch but have picked up a few criteria along the way.

Brakes: With a gross trailer weight of easily 5000+ lbs, you probably should have electric brakes on at least one axle if not both. I had surge brakes on an open trailer and now have electric brakes on an enclosed trailer. Electric is much nicer.

Hmmmm, swaying with an empty trailer? That doesn't sound right. Was it windy? Where were you coming from and at what speeds? You shouldn't have sway problems if the trailer's weight and balance is correct and the trailer should be built to be perfectly balanced empty. There should be 10-12% (15% max) of the trailer weight on the tongue and have the trailer pulling pretty close to level. The picture looks like it's pretty close to level, so I'm not sure what's going on there. How much weight did you have in the rear of the tow vehicle?

Drop me a line if you're not sure how to do a weight and balance or want to discuss brakes. Or, if you bought it new, (looks pretty shiny) the dealer should help out with recommendations. Good luck.

Hi Ted- we met briefly at Trackmaster May2nd (via Steve G.).

I've never trailered anything before, but only heard of horrors stories from my research. Weather was nice & the trailer actually didn't sway too bad (maybe my inexperience got me worried).

Anyways, I'm gonna bleed the brakes tonight and test drive again tomorrow.

Just don't want to be trailing on a "string and a prayer."

Hi is this Larry?