• ***Text Box Error UPDATE*** Folks- we were able to fix the underlying issue with the missing text box on the forum. Everything should be back to normal. - Honcho

turbo or sc

Im new to the nsx world and looking to ad boost to my car. I am leaning towards a s/c. My main concern is that I dont want have to build my motor to handle a crazy amount of boost. From waht I understand turbo systems produce alot more power so I would have to build my motor to handle this. I want good performance, reliability, and not to have to worry about heat, or any other problems. Any tips? Also looking for a tuner in the Vancouver area. Thanks all!

Go CTSC if you want no worries.

This is a question we get quite frequently since we offer both our supercharger system and our twin turbocharger system for the NSX.

The determining factor is in general the power goal of the customer. The feel of our supercharger system is like you took out the factory engine and put in a 450 hp small block V8. The twin turbocharger system provides smooth power delivery thanks to the twin setup with power delivery that can be anywhere from tame to warp speed.

In general, our supercharger system is better for the customer who wants a forced induction system that will produce around 400-450 hp at the crank, wants instant boost response, does not plan on modifying his stock engine, and wants a system that is somewhat easier to install (takes approximately 14 hrs). The system is very quiet compared to any other supercharger system available.

Our twin turbocharger system is more ideal for the customer who may have plans to modify the engine down the road (the system produces 450 hp at the crank on a factory engine, and is capable of producing nearly 900 hp with engine modification), and is willing to spend a little more on installation (takes approximately 20 hrs. The system is fairly quiet, thanks to the twin internal wastegates, with just a little turbocharger sound (blow off valve, etc.)