• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

Won't start, fuel pump?

Car died on the freeway at normal speed, just lost drive without warning. Seems like it's a fuel problem, because it cranked over just fine, battery was replaced only a few weeks ago. Had the car towed home and replaced the main relay, no change. I'm not hearing the fuel pump run when I first turn the key, and it's a Walbro, which was loud enough to notice.

I don't think it's the ignition switch because it doesn't try to fire at all, and from reading others' problems it seems like those cause the car to fire and then die when the key is released.

I'm not too good with the service manual, but I already tried jumping the fuel pump resistor. No blown fuses in the kick panel (are there other fuses involved in the fuel system?), tried unplugging the O2 sensors (from another thread) and still nothing.

I'd like to check the fuel pump, one post suggested putting 12v to the pump wires, but I'm not sure where the plug is. Can anyone point me in the right direction for this? If it makes any difference, I'm also running an AEM standalone.

I don't mind taking the car to a shop under normal circumstances, but I don't like the idea of towing it 60 miles. Would rather spend the money on parts.

To see if your pump is making pressure you can pull the fuel line off at the fuel rail and stick it in a gallon milk jug (or similiar container). Then have someone turn the key on and see if fuel comes out (it comes out fast so be ready to turn the key off). If no pressure, you can apply 12V directly to the pump connector (between the seats to the right of the Main Relay when facing the firewall) and see if the pump works that way. Good Luck!

Last edited:
He said in his post that he's already replaced the main relay.