• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

How to re-polish HRE wheels?

Hello everyone, I would like to re polish my HRE 547's as they are a bit dull. I have never done something like this before and was wondering if I could get some advice on what exactly to do so I don't damage the wheel. I believe there is clear coat on them so if someone can recommend a product they have used it would be much appreciated. I see some stuff on the net but thought I would ask my fellow primers on their experiences.

If your wheels are clear coated can you tell if the clear coat has worn through to the base alloy?

If the clear coat is still intact then the dullness is due to damage to the clear coat likely from using abrasive brushes/polishes over the years which puts fine scratches in the clear and leaves it dull.
It is the same as damage to the clear coat on a car's paint.
Clear coat on wheels is there to protect the wheel alloy from oxidation just as the clear coat on your car protects the paint pigment underneath.

You should be able to polish most of the damaged clear coat using to same techniques as you would on a car with scratches in the clear coat.

I use a Meguiars dual speed polisher with their 105 polish (heavy scratches) then 205 polish (light scratches) to bring clear coat on wheels (or the car) back.
There are small pads available for polishers that can be used in the small areas on wheels and Mothers makes a number of foam wheel polishing pads that can be used in a 1/4" drill.

Once you've reduced the depth of the scratches on your wheels and they are looking better I'd suggest a good wax or sealant to help keep brake dust etc off the clear coast.
When washing wheels I use nothing more abrasive than a wool wash mitt (as I would on my car) to keep the clear coat shiny.