• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

D2 Coilover Review

I've been running D2 coilovers for the last six months and enjoy them immensely. I did not like the idea of the Tein RE/A variant because of price and I did not like the flex because is was not a light-weight aluminum design. Though D2 Coilovers come with 15kg/mm front and 9kg/mm rear I ordered them 9kg/mm front and 7kg/mm rear, which is similar to the 02 NSX-R. It cost me $850 shipped from NOLimit Motorsports. Shipping took 4 weeks. For daily street driving it is just on the edge of stiff enough and soft enough. Stiff enough, gives great response, soft enough, without an uncomfortable ride. This was a good compromise since I wanted to track the car periodically yet have it as my daily driver. I have even driven this across country, Dallas to S.FL enjoying every minute of it. Going to a 7:7 or 7:5 ratio to soften it up a bit could be desirable for those who drive on very uneven streets like here in DFW and for the small desire of the female unit that some of us drive with. Even though some women might feel it is stiff let them drive it, it will change there mind. After my little woman drove the car she changed her tune, and agrees it is a great compromise of firmness; no more complaints, she wants her own NSX now. The 7:5 ratio would be similar to the 93-5 NSX-R. Any DFW NSXer desiring these is welcome to test-drive my car.

Last edited:
D2's are not to bad, though I found it bit stiff, handling is good

not a bad coil overs, good for Australia, as they have a d2 repairer/overhauler in Australia if there are any problems. Purchased mine for $1800 AU

Good job Thom!!

Thanks for the review. glad it worked out for you.. I never got the D2 since i was running a Koni/Tanabe setup. I may give D2 a try after reading the positive review.. Any Pictures of the Setup?

Sockeye said: