• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

NSX Primers - This is my profession

I got a couple responses in the thread " NSXprimers what is your profession ? " http://www.nsxprime.com/forums/showthread.php?t=111740

So I figured I would start another thread if anyone is interested in what I do for a living without hijacking the original thread. I had an unusual call the other day and my local newspaper picked up on the story and put me on the front page.

Turkey in a tear takes out window
By Robert Miller
Staff Writer
Article Last Updated: 10/24/2008 10:32:39 PM EDT

RIDGEFIELD CT --DANBURY NEWS-TIMES

When an irresistible force, such as a flying turkey, meets an old, immovable object, like a double-paned window, you can bet as sure as you live that something's gotta give.

So Sandy Campbell learned last week.

Campbell, of Wilton Road East, heard a crash at his house. That's the sound of a tree limb smashing through a window, he thought.

"I checked the yard to see if a tree fell down," he said.

With all trees standing tall, he made sure his furnace hadn't backfired. He then went upstairs to check on the bedrooms. In one, he found the shards of a double-paned window scattered like fallen confetti, the window screen torn, the shade askew.

And lying on the floor, on its back, was a discombobulated wild turkey trying to get is bearings.

"It was trying to get its legs underneath it," he said. "I couldn't believe it."

Campbell called Craig Lewis, of Aardvark Animal Control in Danbury. By the time he arrived, the turkey was right side up and pacing the room, looking for an exit.

Lewis first tried to net the bird, only to find his net wasn't big enough. Then he donned heavy leather gloves, cornered the bird, and quickly snatched it up.

"It's a first time for me," Lewis said.