• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

Value of service records - or lack thereof

I'm new to NSX shopping and am learning a ton from this site, thanks for all that.

My question is in regards to the value of complete service records. Given two NSX's of similar year, miles, condition, etc but one has detailed service records and the other doesn't, how much of a premium do you think the records add? I'm thinking it's at least the cost of replacing things like timing belt, snap ring (if in range), etc.

What are your thoughts?

PS: I searched and didn't find a thread on this topic, please point me to it if one exists.

What are your thoughts?

One thing I did was run the CarFax on the car I ultimately purchased and see if it had any service entries. I had service records from the current owner but those only went back 2 years. The service entries on CarFax pointed to the fact the car had service done at a couple of dealerships. I called the dealerships' service departments and gave them the VIN and had them email me copies of the service records they still had (only went back 10 years).

Just my $.02 if you're down to two cars and want to try and level the playing field a bit.

Let's say I try that but don't find any conclusive info. What's the going rate for a timing belt + water pump service now-a-days? Same with the snap ring?

Let's say I try that but don't find any conclusive info. What's the going rate for a timing belt + water pump service now-a-days? Same with the snap ring?

TB/WP varies wildly depending on the service center. Figure $2,500 to $4,000 is a good range.

Snap ring service is basically a new transmission case (~$900) plus labor and minor parts. At least $2,000 for the whole deal.