• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

CCNA / A+ Certified Career Route? How does it look?

It's been awhile since I've touched my hands on computer machinery and i figure now would be a better time than ever to get back into a field I would enjoy.. (I just got laid off as a QA Analyst)

Does anybody have any experience in the tech field?
I used to be a Senior Consultant for a tech firm long ago, and since I want to dip my feet into this industry again, I figured I can start with A+ Cert then move on to CCNA..

Any input is appreciated! Thanks Prime!

Certs are nice, but nothing can replace raw experience. If you don't mind starting low, there are lots of opportunities in IT -- moreso than most any other field, I'd say. The six figure jobs take a lot of experience to slide into; much more than an A+/CCNA cert.

thanks for the input.

i dont' mind entry level i guess... just want a career path that'll lead somewhere.

i've spent 3 years at a mortgage firm prior to being a QA Analyst and i picked up useless skills..

I started in IT back in year 2000 with only a CCNA. It took 6 years to get to 6 figures. It sucked! I got lucky and found a job supporting the WANs for a bunch of companies. My instructor from school knew a guy that knew a guy. It really is who you know.

I did WAN support for Two years and then got picked up by IBM supporting BP's datacenters in North America. I do LAN work for them. Layer 2 is so much easier. Learn how to configure a CSM and FWSM. This knowledge is what keeps me employed.

Certs are nice, but nothing can replace raw experience. If you don't mind starting low, there are lots of opportunities in IT -- moreso than most any other field, I'd say. The six figure jobs take a lot of experience to slide into; much more than an A+/CCNA cert.